7 Best Cybersecurity Certifications for Modern IT Professionals


7 Best Cybersecurity Certifications for Modern IT Professionals

As data breaches and cyber-crimes keep on heightening in recurrence and complexity, organizations realize that traditional methods of system security are no longer going to guarantee safety. Moreover, these firms also realize the strategic value of business data. As a result, they are eager to pay as much as possible for IT security experts who possess the latest, globally recognized certifications in IT security.

Here are 7 of the best cybersecurity training certifications that you should consider to become an in-demand IT professional.

Entry level certifications

EC-Council Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

CEH is a professional level certification to evaluate an IT security professional’s expertise in identifying and managing potential security risks in a company’s IT system. It is a basic or entry-level course from them EC-Council and is usually the stepping stone towards more specialized, advanced courses such as the ECSA or EC-Council Certified Security Analyst test.

Numerous security jobs demand at least a CEH or similar certification. It is a decent qualification for data security experts and system managers looking for an introductory cybersecurity training course in ethical hacking. It is recommended, although not mandatory, that you have a minimum of 2 years of related work experience prior to taking this exam.

CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ is a phenomenal certification to have if you're entering the field of digital security. It is a globally recognized certification which means that firms don’t care where you got the cybersecurity training from as long as you have cleared the exam. It is one of the best certifications to take if you are just stepping into this field and need a rock-solid qualification to boost your resume. Government organizations, in particular, view professionals holding this certification very highly and many such professionals are employed in public sector organizations.

As a prerequisite to taking this certification, you need to have completed the CompTIA Network+course with a minimum of two years of experience administrating IT systems. Since the exam costs around $320, it is advisable to enroll in a good training program so that you can clear the exam easily.

Professional level certifications

(ISC)² Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The CISSP offers world-class certification of your skills and proficiency in advanced IT security. The skills achieved in this program are essential for any individual who needs to execute data security frameworks into a firm’s IT systems. No surprise then that many forms hold IT security experts with this certification in high esteem. Regardless of which country you are based in, or what industry your firm operates in, the globally recognized CISSP offers the best opportunities for career growth.

There are 3 ways of qualifying for the CISSP exam. One is if you possess years of full-time work experience in a related field. Alternatively, you need to have a 4-year college education along with 1 year of related work experience. The third option is to first clear the Associate level qualification of the (ISC)2 and then complete 6 years of work experience.

(ISACA) Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

If you want an advanced-level certification in cybersecurity training, the CISM is your best choice. Especially designed for individuals searching for a high-ranking job involving data security and risk control, the CISM helps you get into a senior management role in your company’s IT department.

IT professionals interested in this certification should possess 5 years of full-time work experience in a data security management role, with no less than 3 years working as an IT security manager. You won’t be able to take the exam without providing evidence of this work experience.

(ISACA) Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The CISA is universally hailed as proof of professional competence in data security, especially for professionals who want to work as system auditors. A good security professional needs to regularly review, control and screen data networks, and security protocols. The CISA certifies that you possess the skills to do this well. Being backed by the American National Standards Institute increases the credibility of the CISA, making the holder a highly in-demand system audit expert.

Potential candidates must have at least 5 years of full-time work experience in data control or security. There are numerous benefits to having this certification, including improved business prospects and more noteworthy impact in the workplace. This accreditation is exceptionally helpful to any individual working in IT and is in charge of reviewing, controlling, checking and evaluating IT frameworks.

(ISC)² Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

A fundamental reason why IT security experts line up for the CCSP is because it is the best certification of their cloud security and network administration skills. Cloud management is a recent field that has opened up new opportunities for IT security professionals. It also poses new challenges which is why firms are looking for professionals with globally recognized certifications in cloud security management. Having a CCSP certification will make you an indispensable asset for any firm that has developed or is planning a cloud-based IT network.

IT professionals seeking to earn this certification are required to have at least 5 years of IT work experience, including 3 years in data security. They should likewise have one year experience in their desired area of specialization, according to the Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) published by the CCSP.

Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC)

The GIACis is known for providing globally recognized digital security certifications. GIAC tests and approves the capacity of professionals in security organization, audits, and programming security. GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC) is designed for those IT specialists who want to showcase their skills in developing IT frameworks and data security systems. It will also increase your knowledge and skills in system security and protection.

Final Word

In short, you have tons of options when it comes to cybersecurity certifications. To find out the best and most suitable ones for you, get in touch with our experts and kickstart your career in this rewarding industry. 

Previous Post Next Post
Hit button to validate captcha