How to Get ITIL 4 Certified After Getting ITIL 3 Foundation


How to Get ITIL 4 Certified After Getting ITIL 3 Foundation

The ITIL, a highly sought-after certification, also known as IT Infrastructure Library is an IT services management framework that guides professionals in best practices for improving IT services through structured and methodical IT Service Management (ITSM).

Launched by Axelos earlier in 2019, ITIL 4 certification program provides IT learners training in more upgraded best practices in IT services management with greater innovations and adaptability.

The ITIL framework enables organizations to implement best practices and improve services management by improving customer support, adopting risk management strategies and creating a sound IT infrastructure conducive to innovation, professional growth, and achievement of organizational goals.

The Validity of ITIL 3 Certification

Several changes are being brought about in the series of ITIL modules as the ITIL framework is transforming to ITIL 4. However, the ITIL 3 programs and qualifications do not become invalid as more advanced-level ITIL 4 certification paths are being introduced throughout 2019, as the transition has started only recently.

Candidates receiving training in the ITIL Foundation program are given the option to migrate to ITIL 4 Foundation course. However, such transfer is not advised to candidates of Intermediate level courses as higher-level ITIL courses are yet to be launched by Axelos.

Certification Tracks of ITIL 3

Some of the ITIL 4 certifications have been released earlier in 2019. However, higher-level programs are yet to be released. As a result, Axelos has made it clear that the ITIL v3 courses will still be considered valid and will be continued as part of the ITIL Framework in 2020.

The remaining ITIL 4 certification paths are said to be launched after 2019. In the meanwhile, you can proceed with the ITIL v3 training as these programs will convert to the ITIL 4 scheme certification.

ITIL v3 is based on a flexible modular system that follows the ITIL Credit System. All courses are worth certain credit scores. Earning a certain number of credits by successfully clearing an exam redeems you eligible for an advanced-level of training course.

For achieving the final certification of the certification path, the ITIL Expert Certification, you will need to earn 22 credits in all. Obtaining this certification qualifies you to enroll in the ITIL Master certification.

The ITIL v3 certification program comprises of a total of six modules which are as follows:

1. ITIL Foundation Certification

This basic certification course awards you with 2 credit points upon clearing the exam. This certification offers ITIL foundation certification training and knowledge about basic concepts of ITIL 4. The examination is a closed-book one, based on 40 MCQs. There are no prerequisites in order to appear for this examination.

After the launch of ITIL 4, Axelos encourages you to transfer to the ITIL 4 program.

2. ITIL Practitioner Certification

This certification program is worth 3 credit points if you clear the examination. As a prerequisite for this exam, obtaining the ITIL Foundation certification is a must.

3. ITIL Intermediate Certification

The clearance the examination for this Intermediate level certification grants you a total of 16 credits. As a prerequisite, you need to have cleared your ITIL Foundation test. You must have also completed a complementing IT training program.

4. ITIL MALC (Managing Across the Lifecycle) Certification

By clearing this exam, you can earn a total of 5 credit points. As a prerequisite, you should have already cleared your ITIL Foundation test.

5. ITIL Expert Certification

In order to be qualified for the Expert level certification, you will need a total of 22 credits, earned through clearing the MALC, Intermediate level and Foundation level examinations.

6. ITIL Master Certification

In order to qualify to appear for this examination, you need to have cleared your ITIL Expert certification exam. To successfully clear the exam and become an ITIL Master, you must provide a rationale and justification about your selection of ITIL best practices, methodologies and techniques and their application at your workplace to achieve organizational goals effortlessly. This may be done by completing practical projects and assignments.

Transferring from ITIL 3 Foundation Certificate to ITIL 4

Getting ITIL 4 certified after completing your ITIL 3 Foundation certification is not that complicated as it might seem. ITIL 4 certification modules are not too different than the ITIL 3 programs.

However, ITIL 4 is divided into two broad categories, namely the Strategic Leader (SL) and Managing Professional (MP).

The ITIL MP certification path comprises of 4 modules which are:

  1. ITIL Specialist High Velocity IT
  2. ITIL Strategist Direct Plan and Improve
  3. ITIL Specialist Create Deliver and Support
  4. ITIL Specialist Drive Stakeholder Value


The ITIL SL path consists of two modules only. They are:

  1. ITIL Leader Digital and IT Strategy
  2. ITIL Strategist Direct Plan and Improve

Upon completing the ITIL foundation training, which is a prerequisite, you can opt for either the MP path or the SL track. You may opt for either a single path or select modules from both as the ITIL Framework is quite flexible.

Since the advanced-level certifications are to be introduced later in 2019, Axelos encourages you to proceed with the ITIL 3 Foundation certification, for credit points will be transferred to the ITIL 4 modules and the credits will be considered as valid.

The Transition Module of ITIL 4

The ITIL 4 is yet to be completely launched in the market, which is why Axelos suggests candidates to opt for the ITIL v3 track for the advanced level ITIL Expert and Master certifications.

The candidates are advised to continue with their ITIL v3 certification training if they are in the middle of pursuing a higher-level certificate instead of discontinuing their training to wait for the commencement of the respective ITIL 4 program, as the credits are transferrable.

If you have earned a total of 17 credits or more, or if you have pursued the ITIL v3 program to obtain the Expert level certification, you will easily qualify for the respective transition course of ITIL 4.

The transition module is specifically conceived to assist trainees in immediately getting familiar with the changes introduced in the new format and propels you to pursue the career paths offered by ITIL 4 with ease through the MP route or by choosing the modules offered by the SL path.

Previous Post Next Post
Hit button to validate captcha