The internet connects everything. From online banking to important government accounts, everything is networked together. Therefore, today, more than ever there’s a need to establish strong cyber security infrastructure to protect critical data from getting into the wrong hands.

Cyber attacks have become quite common and have caused businesses and agencies hundreds of millions of dollars. In fact, according to the Center for Strategic & International Studies, there have been 39 cyber attacks around the world in 2019. From attacks on security forces to government funded cyber warfare, the list goes on.

Therefore, there’s an ever increasing need to have necessary security measures set in place to protect important data from getting hacked or compromised. If you’re a network professional who wants to secure a job in the field of cyber security in organizations.

CASP and CISSP are both important certifications that enable network engineers to gain knowledge of implementing cyber security programs and techniques to prevent organizations from cyber attacks and security threats. Both the courses provide ample technical and managerial information on cyber security industry. Both the certifications are different from one another yet both of them enable organizations to protect their networks from cyber crimes.

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)

CASP certification is an important cybersecurity certification that is performance-based. CASP certified professionals are responsible for implementing cyber security solutions within the policies and frameworks designed by cybersecurity managers. This means that a cybersecurity manager and a CASP professional go hand-in-hand.

What does it teach?

The CASP+ certification allows candidates to gain hands-on knowledge of providing advanced level security to networks of organizations they are working for. A CASP+ professional is trained to do the following:

  • Research and collaboration
  • Risk-management competency
  • Enterprise security integration
  • Enterprise security operations
  • Enterprise security architecture

When you have completed the CASP+ certification, you will be able to perform the following tasks:

  • Analyze risk by interpreting cyber defense needs and trend data to fulfill business objectives.
  • Learn about enterprise security domain in operations, techniques, requirements, and architecture concepts.
  • Integrating cloud and virtualization technologies using broader coverage into secure enterprise architecture.
  • Implementing security control on mobile and other small factor devices and software vulnerability.
  • Implementing cryptographic techniques including Blockchain, mobile device encryption, and cryptocurrency.

Applying for CASP+

In order to get enrolled in the CASP+ certification, candidates do not require any prerequisite experience. However, in order to apply for this certification, it is recommended that you have 10 years of experience in the field of IT out of which 5 years should be solely IT security experience.


You can take the CASP+ test in $426 USD.

Test Pattern

The CASP+ test consists of a total of 90 questions that need to be answered within 3 to 4 hours.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is a certification for information security that is globally recognized as one of the best certifications to learn, implement, and manage a security program. The CISSP is much older than CASP+ and is recognized by most IT professionals as the ‘gold standard’ for security professional certifications.

Having yourself enrolled in the CISSP certification means that you will be tested on the basis of your endurance. Most organizations are in search of CISSP professionals who are able to handle information security tasks much more efficiently.

Applying for CISSP

In order to apply for the CISSP certification, the candidate must have at least 5 years of full-time experience in a minimum of 2 out of 8 cybersecurity knowledge domains. This means that you must be a professional in the field of cybersecurity to get a pass for the CISSP certification.

The CISSP certification exam can be taken in English or other languages including French, Brazilian, Portuguese, German, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, and Japanese. There is also a separate format for the visually impaired.

The CISSP test consists of multiple choice questions and innovative questions designed to test the capabilities of the candidates. All of this is set in place to ensure that the candidate has subsequent knowledge of the eight domains of the (ISC)2.

The International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC)2 recommends that candidates who already have experience working as cybersecurity practitioners should apply. You can have the following job roles in order to apply for the CISSP certification:

  • Chief information officer
  • IT manager
  • Security engineer
  • Director of security
  • Chief information security officer
  • Security systems engineer
  • Security manager
  • Security analyst
  • Security architect
  • Network architect
  • Security auditor
  • Security consultant

In order to register and pass the CISSP certification exam, the candidates must study on their own using CISSP practice books and study guides available offline and online. There are multiple online practice exams that the candidates may take to test their knowledge.

What does it teach?

The CISSP covers a variety of subjects from the field of information security. It is due to this certification that information security professionals around the world can sit down, debate, discuss, and plan strategies to resolve security problems.

Candidates who complete their CISSP certifications learn the following:

  • Identity and Access Management
  • Security and Risk Management
  • Security Operations
  • Software Development Security
  • Asset Security
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Security Architecture and Engineering


The cost of the CISSP certification is $600 USD.

Test Pattern

The CISSP certification exam is 6 hour long containing a total number of 250 questions.

If you get down to the statistics, CISSP is a certification that holds much more importance in the world of information security than CASP. However, both hold their distinct place in the market and both the certifications teach a variety of different techniques to improve security professionals’ cybersecurity skills.

With information easily available everywhere through the web, it has become increasingly important to defend your data. Having the CISSP and the CASP+ certifications ensures that IT professionals can secure a decent and high-paying job in the field of information security.

Previous Post Next Post
Hit button to validate captcha