ITIL Foundation Certified - What Is Next


ITIL Foundation Certified - What Is Next

The ITIL framework was initially designed to solve the problems faced by organizations when planning their IT services delivery. This framework is robust and is targeted towards ensuring that the IT services of any business are delivered with lower costs and better optimization in order to benefit the end-user and the business itself.

Since this IT service lifecycle by ITIL is implemented across a wide variety of businesses worldwide, the need for personnel who specialize in handling this lifecycle and its multiple phases was augmented by the ITIL certification path.

This certification path begins with the ITIL foundations course which is a beginner level course designed to introduce individuals to the ITIL service lifecycle by increasing their knowledge related to the core concepts and terminologies that are contained in the ITIL framework.

ITIL foundations course has no pre-requisites and anyone can take it. The preparation for it is not too difficult as learning materials like ITIL foundation certification training courses or online resources easily suffice to prep an individual for clearing this basic level ITIL course.

However, the ITIL certification path goes well beyond the foundations course and if an individual wants to truly become an expert in implementing ITIL in an organization, it has to commit itself to this very certification path.

But individuals often found this certification path confusing and get perplexed on the way forward from the Foundations certification, so here we are defining this path in clear detail so individuals can know more about what’s next if they continue along it.


One of the most important questions asked by individuals on why they should continue beyond the ITIL foundations course. The answer to this very straightforward. Top tier or even mid-level management positions won’t open up to them unless they are at least certified beyond the intermediate levels on this path. The foundations course will help them land basic positions in support or associate roles and for progressing beyond that, they need to keep moving.

The Two Streams Of ITIL Intermediate Courses:

Right after completing the Foundations certification, the next set of certifications in the ITIL path belong to the ITIL Intermediate Level, and they are further divided in two distinct streams i.e. Lifecycle and Capability.

Just as their names imply, the Lifecycle stream deals with the actual ITIL framework’s execution and delivery components, while the Capability stream certifications allow an individual to handle tasks related to the daily functioning of the ITIL Framework.

Here’s a more detailed breakdown of these two streams:

Lifecycle Stream:

The people who want to be at the helm of delivering the actual ITIL lifecycle are the ones who should opt for the certifications under this stream. This includes all the responsibilities that come under the domain of successful implementation like planning the different phases, leading their delivery, assigning responsibilities and monitoring progress.

For those who want to go beyond the Intermediate level of certifications, the Lifecycle stream is what they should opt for. That’s because the ITIL Expert certification, which comes after the intermediate level, will contain the concepts explored in the Lifecycle stream.

The Lifecycle stream contains the five following certifications:

  • ITIL®Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Strategy
  • ITIL®Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Design
  • ITIL®Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Transition
  • ITIL®Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Operations
  • ITIL®Intermediate Lifecycle: Continual Service Improvement

The Capabilities Stream

This stream deals with more hands-on capabilities and is removed from the Lifecycle stream in that it develops technical skills related to ITIL frameworks. From control and validation to offering support and analysis, the certifications in this stream are sufficient to make you capable of handling all daily activities that arise when the ITIL framework is implemented in the IT of an organization.

If you are not willing to pursue the ITIL certification path beyond the Intermediate level, then this stream will be the most optimized choice for you.

The Capabilities stream contains four different certifications:

  • ITIL®Intermediate Capabilities: Service Offerings & Agreements
  • ITIL®Intermediate Capabilities: Planning, Protection, & Optimization
  • ITIL®Intermediate Capabilities: Release, Control & Validation
  • ITIL®Intermediate Capabilities: Operational Support & Analysis

The ITIL foundations course is a pre-requisite for appearing in any of the intermediate level certifications and apart from clearing this course, you will also need to possess a mandatory two years of experience in an IT role. Axelos, the body that issues these certifications has mandated that the ITIL certification training for them to be done from an accredited institute by Axelos, so self-study is not an option here.

ITIL Expert: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) 

This is an expert level course from this certification path and all the courses that you will pass en-route to this one have been primed to prepare you for the course contents of this certification.

The ITIL Expert: Managing Across The Lifecycle (MALC) course will prepare you for mid-senior level roles in the ITIL framework and other related domains.

To appear in this course, the candidate must possess at least 17 hours of credit from the previous intermediate level certifications. They can be from either of the Lifecycle or Capabilities stream.

ITIL Master:

This is the final course in this path, but the most difficult to pass among them all with a wide array of stringent pre-requisites, high cost of enrollment and a strict passing criteria. Individuals must possess at least 5 years of experience and submit $4000 to appear in the ITIL master exam, but passing it is not enough to get the certification. The candidate will also have to appear before an ITIL assessment panel, prepare a case study where it exhibits how it will implement an ITIL framework to a real-world business case among other requirements.

This course should only be opted for those who can invest themselves in this long process and for whom this certification holds relevance according to their job role or responsibilities.

Previous Post Next Post
Hit button to validate captcha