ITIL 4: A Huge Update For The World Of ITSM


ITIL 4: A Huge Update For The World Of ITSM

For years, ITIL has been among the top-tiers of professional IT Service Management (ITSM) frameworks. Previously known as ‘Information Technology Infrastructure Library’, ITIL was first introduced in the 1980s. Any individual or professional who is associated with the IT industry can speed up his career progression by learning the ITIL framework.

On realizing the significance of ITIL frameworks in the current digital age, many business organizations and IT experts pointed out the inadequacies and limitations that the ITIL V3 framework had. To maintain its position in the IT market, the owners of the ITILdecided to update ITIL V3 and come up with a new framework and tools.

Soon, with the launch of the updated version, ITIL 4 in the IT market, many questions regarding the efficiency and certifications of the upgraded version have emerged. With all the recent developments in the ITIL framework, it is perhaps the right time to get trained and certified to become an ITIL expert, as one can get help for obtaining an ITIL certification online. In case you are already working in an ITIL based platform, then it is advisable to learn the new version to become familiar with the latest ITIL tools and services.

New ITIL 4 Certification Levels

The best thing about ITIL 4 is its alignment with the former version. If you already own an ITIL V3 certification, then it is not necessary to upgrade to the newer version. Although a lot of the topics covered in the ITIL 4 certification course are the same as the ITIL 3 curriculum, there are still some new topics introduced in ITIL 4.

Most of the topics in the ITIL 4 curriculum are especially focused on upon more recent IT practices that are followed in the industry.

ITIL 4 also focuses upon integration with other digital platforms.

In the new ITIL 4 certification levels, the first certification level is the Foundation level. This foundational level certification also serves as a prerequisite to qualify for other intermediate level ITIL certifications.

The current ITIL certification levels are:

  1. ITIL Foundation Level
  2. ITIL Specialist Level
  3. ITIL Strategist Level
  4. ITIL Leader Level
  5. ITIL MasterLevel

ITIL Service Lifecycle

The ITIL Service Lifecycle consists of the following stages in service development:

  • Service Strategy (SS)
  • Service Design (SD)
  • Service Transition (ST)
  • Service Operation (SO)
  • Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Each ITIL Service Lifecycle stage has been designed to make sure that the experts have complete understanding regarding the needs and requirements of the existing as well as new services that need to be followed.

Major Differences Between ITIL V3 and ITIL V4 Certifications

One can find detailed and updated information about working towards an ITIL certification online. Contrary to the popular misconception, ITIL 3 certifications will remain valid even after the release of the upgraded version. Therefore, if you are familiar with the current patterns of ITIL technology standard, you do not need to update their certification.

As mentioned earlier, since most of the course outline for ITIL 4 certification exam is similar to the previous ITIL 3 course outline, there are just a few new topics introduced in ITIL 4. However, professionals presently working on obtaining the certifications of  ITIL V3 need to bear in mind that to clear the V4 exams in the future, by relying only on studying is not advisable as the curriculum for the V3 exams is about to become outdated quite soon.

Difference Between New ITIL Certification Levels

Some changes and modifications have been made in the present ITIL certification level. The ITIL Foundation level is the elementary level certification, providing learners with the basic knowledge of different ITIL concepts, elements, and terminology to prepare for more advanced level ITIL certifications.

Those IT professionals who have already cleared the ITIL 3 certification exam do not require to retake any certification exam. Although the ITIL certification path has been changed, the ITIL Foundation certification has not been changed and is still an entry-level certification.  In case you have just started your career in the IT industry, you can learn about the key concepts and elements of the ITIL framework.

Earlier, students were required to earn the ITIL Intermediate level credits to qualify for more advanced certification levels. However, ITIL V4 has a new structure.

On completion of the ITIL Foundation certification exam, you will get the option for two directions:

  • ITIL Managing Professional (MP)
  • ITIL Strategic Leader (SL)

To reach either of the ITIL levels mentioned above, you need to complete all of the certification levels enumerated in each stream. The ITIL Strategist certification level is, however, required for both paths.

After completing these two intermediate certifications levels, you become eligible to apply for the ITIL Master certification.

Those professionals who have obtained ITIL 3 certification and have earned 17 credits of ITIL 3 qualify for the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) certification. In case you did not earn 17 credits and did not clear the ITIL Expert level, then you have the following two options:

  1. 1.       ITIL 4 Foundation Certification exam

In case you have cleared the ITIL 3 Foundation certification exam but did not get the ITIL 3 Expert certification or acquire any extra ITIL credits, then you need to first clear the ITIL 4 Foundation exam.

  1. 2.       ITIL 3 intermediate certification exam

In case you have achieved a number of ITIL 3 credits, you should continue until you have acquired all the 17 credits. Once you have achieved all the 17 credits, you will become eligible to appear for the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) Transition certification. After obtaining the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) Transition certification, you need to first clear the ITIL Leader Digital & Strategy module to qualify for the ITIL Master certification.

The ITIL examination can open the doors to an exciting career. To learn more about the career options for ITIL qualified professionals, contact your local representative, or send us an email. Browse through the different courses available online and see which one matches your career goals and interests.

For more information, connect with us today and learn about ITIL 4.

Previous Post Next Post
Hit button to validate captcha