Linux Certification Path


Linux Certification Path

Linux certifications hold a distinct position in the field of IT. These certifications can play a significant role in shaping the future of your IT career, since the majority of business organizations prefer to run their servers on the Linux OS.

The value of Linux certifications, especially Linux system administrator training, has grown significantly over the years as more and more IT professionals realize the benefits of holding Linux certifications.

Linux certifications are a great way to kick-start your career in the IT world. Not only do they help in validating your IT skills but they can also help you get jobs with a greater pay scale.

Linux certifications are offered by a number of institutions across different parts of the world. Through Linux certifications, IT professionals can easily understand the functioning of Linux operating systems.

Linux certifications also help employers understand the expertise and skills of potential candidates in the setup, installation and configuration of Linux based operating systems.

Currently, there are several institutes offering Linux certifications. However, only a few of these certifications are accepted globally. Although there are many Linux certifications that one can opt for, the following are some of the most popular Linux certifications:

1. CompTIA Linux+ 

The CompTIA Linux+ is one of the leading and oldest Linux certifications. The CompTIA Linux+ certification can help you perform various managerial-level operations in a Linux based environment.

CompTIA Linux+ can help to improve your credibility as a skilled administrator for handling Linux based operating systems.

The CompTIA Linux+ credential is specially designed for those businesses that plan to use Linux in their company's cloud operations, cybersecurity practices and online application management. To obtain the latest Linux+ certification, you only need to pass one exam.

The new CompTIA Linux+ exam focuses more on practical aspects, hands-on training and objective-based questions covering the relevant topics and current technologies.

As opposed to other Linux certifications, the new exam consists of mostly multiple-choice questions. The Linux+ certification exam includes the Linux Networking and Administration of all top Linux distributions. This creates the base for more advanced-level distro-specific/ vendor knowledge.

The Linux+ certification exam includes basic tasks of top distributions in Linux which primarily include maintaining the Linux OS, Linux commands, installation plus configuration of Linux workstations and Linux networking.

It consists of two exams: LX0-103 and LX0-104. You need to first clear the LX0-103 exam to be qualified for taking the LX0-104 exam.

Both exams in the CompTIA Linux+ certification consist of a total of 60 multiple choice questions, and the time duration of the exam is 90 minutes. The minimum passing score for the CompTIA Linux+ certification exam is 500. Therefore, you need to clear both exams to achieve the CompTIA Linux+ certification.

You can start taking certification preparation for CompTIA Linux+ with QuickStart. The certification path in Linux is a long but worthwhile path. 

2. Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) certification

The RHCE certification is a great stepping stone towards a full-fledged career in this field. Since it is a highly competitive certification, it makes you an attractive candidate in the IT job market compared to other professionals.

To gain maximum benefits and boost your career, you should opt for a senior-level course to maximize your career prospects. Just one of these certifications is enough to guarantee you a fast-paced career in any position, including senior UNIX administrator or IT analyst.

However, to take the RHCE certification, you need to first pass the Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) certification as a prerequisite.

3. Oracle Linux Certifications

Oracle Linux certifications primarily focus on Oracle-based technologies and services. To achieve an Oracle Linux credential, you need to pass a series of exams. Oracle's certifications can be divided into the following levels:

  1. Oracle Certified Junior Associate (OJA)
  2. Oracle Certified Associate (OCA)
  3. Oracle Certified Professional (OCP)
  4. Oracle Certified Master (OCM)
  5. Oracle Certified Expert (OCE)
  6. Oracle Certified Specialist (OCS)

Since each level is different in terms of complexity of topics and learning objectives, you can select the level according to your current professional skills, aptitude, knowledge and career needs.

4. LPIC Level 1: Linux Administrator

This is an elementary-level certification, and there are no particular prerequisites to qualify for this certification. This level includes all the fundamental skills and knowledge, such as installation and maintenance of Linux based operating systems. In order to qualify for the other two levels, it is advisable to complete this certification first and then move on to the next level of certifications.

5. LPIC Level 2: Linux Engineer

LPIC Level 2: Linux engineer is a certification specially designed to provide aspiring IT professionals with the necessary skills and knowledge needed for Linux networking and troubleshooting.

This certification validates the skills and knowledge of IT professionals in Linux Networking and Administration of setting up routers on the network and gaining access to network servers through port mapping.

The LPIC-2 exam recognizes the skills of IT professionals to manage and control small and medium-sized networks.

To qualify for the LPIC-2 certification, you need to first pass the LPIC-1 credential as a prerequisite. You also need to clear a total of two exams for achieving the LPIC-2 certification. They are:

  1. Exam 201-400
  2. Exam 202-400

6. LPIC Level 3: Linux Enterprise Professional Certification

The Linux Enterprise Professional Certification is a more advanced-level certification that requires you to first clear the first LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 certifications. Candidates also need to attempt one of the specialty exams: 300, 303 or 304.

Final word

As a result of continuous development and growth in Linux operating systems, it is expected that the demand for trained Linux professionals will keep on increasing. IT professionals looking for great career opportunities and growth can certainly benefit and be globally recognized by getting proper training and guidance through Linux certifications.

Start learning from basic courses with our LITE Subscription that offers courses FREE OF CHARGE.

Previous Post Next Post
Hit button to validate captcha